Truck & Bus Forum Truck & Bus Forum
13:45
Welcome to the Truck & Bus Forums
Welcome!A very warm welcome to truckandbusforum.com, a completely FREE online community for people worldwide with an interest in vintage and modern trucks and buses.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Please feel free to join by clicking HERE.

Go Back   Truck & Bus Forum > Members Area > Say Hello

Old 22nd January 2012, 13:34

330 Horsebox Headache

HI
I have been running the above for about 8 years,recently my daughter has gone to uni,and we have not used the box for about 3 years.[sound familar?]
Guess what it sarted fine,but brakes have siezed.Does anyone know how best to unseize them?It's a 1974 model and has an air handbrake.
Thanks Steve:
Old 22nd January 2012, 13:45

Send a message via Skype™ to coastie
What make is the chassis?

By the way, please forgive my ignorance and let me wish you a very warm welcome from the sunny Isle of Anglesey. I hope you get the info you seek and partake in the banter, chat and piccies on here.

Testing, but give us a try: www.cable962.listen2myradio.com
Old 22nd January 2012, 13:55

Welcome to the forum Steve, I am sure you will get all the answers you need.
Where is G-C when you need him??
Old 22nd January 2012, 15:06

Regardless of make or model, the most likely cause of brake seizure after a prolonged period of parking with the brake applied is 'rusting' of the lining to the brake drum due to moisture.

The parking air-brake mechanism operates against a very strong spring which actually applies the brake - the air acts against the spring to release the brake. If the seals are seized the spring won't release, and if the seals are perished the air will leak.

Make sure that the parking brake mechanism and linkage are releasing (check that there is movement when you apply full air pressure to the cylinder - it might be seized).